Skip navigation

 

Every year, I get away for several days near the end of year – to reflect, to pray and to plan. It is one of the most intense, most enjoyable, and most valuable things I do. My spirit is renewed, my love for Jesus, His church, and my family is refreshed.

I use a number of questions to help me process the previous year.

Here are several:

1. What are the 2-3 events that defined 2011 for me?

2. What people, books, accomplishments, or special moments created highlights in 2011?

3. How did I do in the following areas during 2011: vocationally, spiritually, family, relationally, emotionally, financially, physically, recreationally.

4. What am I trusting God for in 2012 ? What are the goals I want to accomplish in 2012?

5. Is a majority of my energy being spent on things that drain me or things that energize me?

6. Where do I want to be 5 years from now? 10 years? 

7. What have I been putting off that I need to take care of before the end of the year?

8.What are the unique needs of my wife at this season in her life and our marriage? What do my children need from me this year?

What other questions might be helpful in a survey like this? 

2 Comments

  1. #9. Do I still “own” anything (Have I acquired anything this year) or does it all belong to God?

    #10. What am I going to preach on tomorrow morning?

    • how about 11. Is there any better proof of the existence of God than cinnabuns?


Leave a comment