Skip navigation

Some people make them. Most forget them within a week. Some write off those who make them.

I still think there is value in good resolutions. So did the Apostle Paul: “…we always pray for you, that our God may make you worthy of his call, and may fulfill every good resolve and work of faith by his power, so that the name of our Lord Jesus may be glorified in you, and you in him, according to the grace of our God and the Lord Jesus Christ.” 2 Thess 1:12

So here are four of my resolutions for 2011

1. I resolve to fill my life with awareness of God’s grace and glory. My plan is to memorize scripture, starting with Philippians. I hope you’ll join me.

2. I resolve to press ahead. As my friend David Foster puts it, “I’m not going to look to the past, to the regrets, the sins, the mistakes that I have made and, more importantly, the ones that have been perpetrated against me. I’m going to let the past be in the past and I’m moving forward. There is no future in the past and it’s really tough to navigate the road ahead by looking in the rear-view mirror.”

3. I resolve to work on my marriage – at least, on me! The pressures of life and marriage tend to surface selfishness and pettiness in me. And I hate it. So – I plan to read about marriage, talk about marriage, share more with my wife, and discover fresh ways to challenge and comfort and protect my wife. I plan to give attention to my spiritual leadership.

4. I resolve to be positive. If God is involved in every event of my life – and he is – and if Romans 8:28 is true – and it is – I believe 2011 will be one of the best of my life. I believe God will show up this year. Yes, I understand that things always take longer than I thought they would, cost more than I was promised, and sometimes have to be jettisoned altogether. But that doesn’t mean I’m not going to expect the best from God and His plan for my life, as well as other people. Just because some people let you down doesn’t mean everyone will.

This is my list. Either adopt it as your own, or come up with one that’s better.

Leave a Reply

