Skip navigation

Several years ago, I visited a man who had been given only a few days to live. His cancer was advanced and the doctors had done all they could. When I entered the hospital room, his daughter was talking quietly to her dying father. She said, “Dad, I want to see you in heaven.”

She had shared the gospel with her father many times. Apparently, since his life expectancy was so short, she abandoned the subtle approach and simply spoke her heart.

It was my privilege to be present when he trusted Jesus Christ as his Forgiver and Leader. Several days later, he died – a Christian.

Sometimes, it simply takes someone who cares enough to be blunt.

Charles Spurgeon, one of my heroes from the past, once ended a sermon like this…

Meet me in heaven!  Do not go down to hell.  There is no coming back again from that abode of misery.  Why do you wish to enter the way of death when heaven’s gate is open before you?  Do not refuse the free pardon, the full salvation which Jesus grants to all who trust him.  Do not hesitate and delay.  You have had enough of resolving, come to action.  Believe in Jesus now, with full and immediate decision.  Take with you words and come unto your Lord this day, even this day.  Remember, O soul, it may be now or never with you.  Let it be now; it would be horrible that it should be never.  Farewell.  Again I charge you, meet me in heaven.

Is there anyone to whom you need to simply say, “I love you, and I really want to see you in heaven?”

This coming Sunday, I want to help you do just that.

The Orchard Fellowship will meet next Sunday night at 6:00pm, at the GPAC. It will be our next-to-the-last Sunday night service – and it will be a very special service. I hope you can join us!

Remember, we launch the Orchard Fellowship on Sunday morning, September 12.


Tonight –

I hope you’ll make a few moments to drop by tonight and “Meet-and-Greet” me and the other staff of the Orchard. No agenda – just an opportunity to hang out, talk about our lives, families, the Orchard – and pray for each other.

Meet-and-Greet, 6:00-8:00pm – home of Lorie Affatto, 10450 Raleigh LaGrange Road, Eads, TN.

Leave a Reply

