Skip navigation

I’ve heard it so often in the last few days – “Our country is being lost. The tide must turn. Things must change.”

Can a nation change direction?

Is it too late?

Will a change in administration change the country?

What changes a mind, a heart, a spirit?

Spiritual leaders are beginning to call God’s people to follow 2 Chronicles 7:14 – to humble themselves, seek God’s face, pray for our country, turn from personal and corporate evil – and make the necessary changes in leadership.

How does a Christian repent?

Lancelot Andrews gives a model to use to begin the process…

Merciful and pitiful Lord, long-suffering and full of compassion:

I have sinned, Lord, I have sinned against You. O wretched man that I am, I have sinned, Lord, against you grievously, as I have participated in false vanities.
I conceal nothing from you, Lord. I make no excuses. I denounce against myself my sins. Indeed, I have sinned against the Lord in the following ways, and call to mind those particular sins I wish to confess.

I have sinned and perverted that which was right, and it profited me nothing. And what shall I say now? Without plea, without excuse, I am self-condemned. I have destroyed my own self.

O Lord, righteousness belongs to you, but in me there is only confusion. You are just in bringing sentence upon me. And now, Lord, what is my hope? Is it not you, Lord? Truly my hope is in you, if I have hope left, if your loving-kindness will abound in the face of all my sins.

O Lord, remember what I am made of and who made me, for I am the work of your hands! I was made in your image, I am the reward of your blood, and name from your Name, a sheep of your pasture, a son of your Covenant.

Do not forsake the work of your own hands. Have mercy upon me, O God, according to your loving-kindness, according to the multitude of your tender mercies, blot out my transgressions.

Leave a Reply

