Skip navigation

“Father, I want those you have given me to be with me where I am, and to see my glory, the glory you have given me because you loved me before the creation of the world.” John 17:24

This is the last part of the Jesus’ high priestly prayer, spoken just before he was betrayed and arrested. It perhaps reveals his heart’s deepest desire.

I call it “mind-boggling” for 5 reasons:

1. “…those you have given me…” – Christ-followers – individually and collectively – are love gifts from the Father to the Son. Imagine that!

2. “I want those you have given me to be with me…”Jesus wants his followers (me, you) to be with him – mind-boggling in itself. Sometimes, I don’t want to be with me! Sometimes, I don’t want to be with anyone else. He actually wants me to be with him. He not only loves me – he likes me!

3. “I want those you have given me to be with me where I am …” Where would that be? Heaven. He actually wants me to be with him forever.

4. “…and to see my glory, the glory you have given me because you loved me before the creation of the world.” This is over the top. The ESV Study Bible says, “the whole purpose of salvation is communicated in this verse. ‘See’ represents the Greek word ‘theoreo’ ‘to observe with sustained attention’ and includes the idea of entering into and experiencing something.”

Jesus wants to show me the glory he had before Bethlehem, before the creation, before the angels existed, before anything but God himself.

What must that be like? Since God is infinite, it will take eternity to explore and delight and wonder and marvel and be awed by his glory.

Imagine every moment in heaven being more awesome, more delicious, more delightful, than the moment before – with no end in sight – ever.

Imagine having the growing and developing capacity to comprehend and enjoy the glories of the Son as he reveals them to us.

And, if that is not enough….

5. He concludes the prayer by implying that believers will enter into and experience the love that exists between the members of the Trinity (vs. 26).

OK, now I’m ready for staff meeting!

One Comment

  1. Hey Sam & Ruthie;
    Just wanted to say hello and glad to hear all is going well with Orchard Fellowship. I believe God has you there for a reason and that reason is great because it’s His plan for you! I think God is calling out people who will not straddle the fence, but get in the war and be good soldiers in His army. I think He’s doing it in places like Memphis, Tupelo and to the four corners of the earth. I think He’s doing it because time is getting close for the return of His son & He wants us to win as many souls as we can to the Kingdom.
    My prayer is that the anointing of God will fall on Orchard Fellowship, Hope Church and all other fellowships that are striving to live for Jesus Christ and praying for the flood gates of Heaven to open and the power of God to literally rock our world!
    Be blessed,
    Bob


Leave a Reply

