Skip navigation

Dana Key became a household name for an entire generation of young people in the 80′ and 90’s. He met his best friend, keyboardist Eddie DeGarmo, in the first grade, and together, they toured the world as DeGarmo & Key. Dana worked with, toured and opened for such major Christian Rock bands as Petra, Amy Grant, REZ Band, and dc Talk. Dana also released two solo albums.

Dana is a direct descendant (great-great-great-great-great-great grandson) of the famous Francis Scott Key, author of The Star-Spangled Banner.

He served as the head of Ardent Records, hosted a TV show, and mentored a number of young musicians.

More than a musician – and he was an phenomenon! – he was a Bible teacher with the heart of an evangelist. He wanted the gospel presented clearly, accurately, frequently.

And, Dana Key was my friend.

I don’t think I shall ever forget the day he sat in my office and shared that he believed God was calling him to be a pastor – actually, to launch a church. I laid my hands on him, prayed for him, led our church to encourage and partner with him. With our blessing, Dana and the large Sunday School class he taught, left to launch TLC – the Love of Christ Church.

I had a call just after midnight tht Dana had enterd the presence of Jesus. We lost a warrior. He entered the loving presence of the One for whom he named his church and of whom he spoke and sang so often.

We pray peace for Anita and his family and TLC and his many friends.

4 Comments

  1. Sam, thanks for sharing…I had just heard this news and am so saddened. I remember Dana speaking at our former church and being blessed by his passion for Christ.

  2. My wife Missie (a former GBC Ministry Asst.) used to love to listen to Dana teach the word. I know she was one of the first to welcome him home. I hope all is well with you and your family Sam.

  3. Dear Pastor Sam… We heard the news on KLOV radio yesterday while driving home from NO. We are so sorry. I remember how close you were to him. I remember Dana, mostly from the days when my son, David, would practice his guitar at their home. Dana inspired my son in music and in his Godly example. He will be so missed. I hope to see you soon at the Orchard. Love Darlin Fugit

  4. Dana was my friend and brother in Christ. It is an honor to serve as an Elder at TLC. Dana’s vision will live on at TLC. Right now, we are grieving the loss of our shepherd, with time and love from people like Sam Shaw, we will recover, but we will NEVER forget him, and we will ALWAYS love and miss him.
    Rich


Leave a Reply

