Skip navigation


I walked into Eloise’s room yesterday. Imagine an ICU room – each room with its own nurse (Arkansas Childrens’ Hospital is amazing!). Eloise was asleep, head severely cocked to one side.

I asked the nurse, “will that cause pain in her neck?”

“Probably, but when we adjust her head, she just keeps falling over again.”

“Could I adjust her head?”

“Sure.”

I carefully reached over and lifted her head upright. Eloise awoke, looked up at me and said, “PaPa, leave me alone.” Then closed her eyes, dropped her head back on her shoulders and went back to sleep. My sister, Susan, who was in the room with me, laughed and said, “guess that shows where you rate.”

I was thrilled she recognized me.

She is dealing with spiking fever, fluid on the lungs, and irregular heartbeat – all normal, as I understand it – for this kind of surgery.

As Jim Gantenbein, Seattle pastor and my college roommate said, “we’ll keep praying.”

Thanks, bro, and thanks to all who keep praying.

2 Comments

  1. Hi! My name is Terry and I found your blog with updates about your sweet granddaughter via a friend of mine. We were both friends with Clayton in college. I have a 3 1/2 son so hearing about Eloise really tugged at my heartstrings. I have been praying for her ever since I heard. I am sad that I missed the first 3 1/2 years of praying for her but I now plan on doing my part of lifting her and her precious family up before our heavenly Father. My family and I now live in Washington state so you can add a prayer warrior way out west to the roll of intercessors. Blessings!

  2. Washington State is a great place to pray from and Eloise (and her family) is a great person to pray for!


Leave a Reply

