Skip navigation

When our heavenly Father looks upon the broken mess of our lives, he doesn’t snicker or sigh.

He ministers to us a sweeter comfort than any temporary and worldly comfort we’d sought before.

We are told by the prophet, “The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise” [Ps. 51:17].

God doesn’t despise us in our brokenness; he comforts us in it.

The greater the brokenness, the greater the impulse to trust him.

The greater the trust in him, the greater the joy of his salvation.

So, then, the further to the end of ourselves we go, the more of Christ we will enjoy.

Jared Wilson

One Comment

  1. Brother Sam Shaw,
    I told you in church today but wanted to reiterate again.I am thankful for God’s work through you in Tupelo.You have meant alot to me through providing a true message that has brought me closer to God.I am sorry that I started coming to Hope at the end of your ministry here.I was really upset with your leaving,but you are here to serve God not man.I hate to see you leave;however,I am sure that God has great things for you in Memphis.I can’t wait to hear of God’s influence in the Memephis area through your dedication to Him.I will come visit you in Memphis.Take care and God bless you and your family,greatly!I have never told you,but my father was an interim pastor for over a year in a large church(Several thousands).I saw the church politics first hand so I commend you for maintaining the strong faith and want to encourage you that people are never satisfied so always seek God’s will over others.I will keep in touch and pray for you!
    God Bless,
    George Hammitt III


Leave a Reply

