Skip navigation

On Sunday, November 8, 2009, my son Joey was attacked by a group of young men in a large city in India. Joey, in the country for a Christian conference, was slashed in the face by a straight-razor. After fighting off his attacker and running away (along with two of his fellow pastors), he was taken to a hospital, where his cheek was sewn together. Thanks to his church , he was able to return to his home in Austin on Tuesday.

We are very grateful to our Lord that he did not lose an eye or have his throat cut.

We are grateful for the fine stitching job done by a doctor in India.

We are grateful that he is recovering emotionally, and has learned so many lessons from this incident.

In a few days, I’ll post his reflections from the last few days.

5 Comments

  1. We are so thankful for Joey’s safe return home. He and Krystal have been such a blessing to our family and our church. I know a little about what your family has suffered for the ministry. Thank you for continuing your calling despite your discouragements. I know God will use all of this for His glory.

  2. I had seen on his FB postings that he had some injury, but I had no idea it happened while on mission. That is so horrible. He and Krystal have been such a blessing in my life, while I was in Austin and while I have been serving in Africa. I love them both, and I am so thankful for God’s mercy and protection. It is horrible, but could have been so much worse as you said. May God deal ever so severely with the people who attacked Joey, and may God receive all the glory for Joey’s forgiveness towards the attackers. Knowing Joey, he has already done that and prayed for them.

  3. This hurts the “Mother” part of me. Praise God for His protection.

  4. So glad to know that Joey is home and recovering. God is good!

  5. Unbelievable! So glad he is ok


Leave a Reply

