Skip navigation

forgive

It happened again yesterday. Someone offended someone.

What now? Sweep it under the rug? Write off the other person? Confront and accuse? Take my toys and go home?

One party wants to talk, reconcile, seek forgiveness. The other party has no interest in that. It is too painful. Drop it!

At some point, if one is a Christ-follower, is to forgive.

Forgiveness is a commitment – is a promise to pardon another. Ken Sande summarizes four promises that Christians make when they forgive another.

“I will not dwell on this incident.”

“I will not bring up this incident again and use it against you.”

“I will not talk to others about this incident.”

“I will not let this incident stand between us or hinder our personal relationship.”

Sande writes,

By making and keeping these promises, you can tear down the walls that stand between you and your offender. You promise not to dwell on or brood over the problem or to punish by holding the person at a distance. You clear the way for your relationship to develop unhindered by memories of past wrongs. This is exactly what God does for us, and it is what he calls us to do for others.

Now, think of the person who has offended you. How are you doing on these four promises?

One Comment

  1. I read this blog soon after you posted it, and God continues to draw me back to the context. I have had to walk forgiveness out and there were MANY times that me and God were the only ones who understood. But, this far on the other side I would NOT trade the decision to forgive for ANYTHING!!! The thread I held on to for many years was the statement Jesus made, “Father forgive them.” Thanks for the truth you speak into our lives, Pastor Sam.


Leave a Reply

