Skip navigation

images

I bought my first book by A. W. Tozer in a used book store when I was in seminary. The title caught my eye: The Root of the Righteous. Tozer was a Christian and Missionary Alliance pastor in Chicago for many years. He edited the denominational news magazine and later compiled his editorial essays into a series of short books.

He is best known for The Knowledge of the Holy and The Pursuit of God. If you have not read either of these, stop whatever you are doing right now and run – not walk – run to Amazon or a bookstore and purchase both of these!

If you struggle with distractions and have a short attention span, try out one of his collections of essays. They are pointed, warm-hearted, God-focused, Gospel-centered.

Tozer saw things with such clarity! For example, in The Root of the Righteous, he wrote…

“The man of pseudo faith will fight for his verbal creed but refuse flatly to allow himself to get into a predicament where his future must depend upon that creed being true. He always provides himself with secondary ways of escape so he will have a way out if the roof caves in. What we need very badly these days is a company of Christians who are prepared to trust God as completely now as they know they must do at the last day.”

Amen!

One Comment

  1. That’s a great quote. Convicting as well….sometimes I feel as if I have a psuedo faith. I want to trust God 100% and although I feel like I do most of the time, I often find myself having some type of “backup” that I rely on whether it be money, my own talents, etc.

    God forgive me and help me to forsake all idols.


Leave a Reply

