Skip navigation

As God has reminded me over the last few months, he never uses people who love safety over sacrifice. God has painfully reminded me that he sidelines people who hate change because they love comfort. So if I want to be used by God to do great things for his name, I better get used to change.

I want to be a big Christian, and I want you to be a big Christian. I want to be a God-drenched man. And I want my church to be filled with God-drenched people. I want every part of our church to be devoted to God and his unfashionable ways. I don’t want us to be lovers of comfort, lovers of self, and haters of change. Because God doesn’t want us to be lovers of comfort, lovers of self, and haters of change.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to play around with my life. I want to “leave it all out on the field” for Christ’s sake. I don’t want to be a mile wide and an inch deep, spiritually. I want to have a God-given, uncommon valor to follow God’s lead and do God’s will. I want to live my life, as the Puritans used to say, before “an audience of One.”

But you know what this means? You guessed it. It means I have to be willing to embrace change. I know that’s hard for me–and I know that’s probably hard for you. But, while following God’s lead is never safe, it is always good. And that’s good enough for me.

So, will you be willing to change with me? Please? After all, misery loves company!

Tullian Tchividjian

Leave a Reply

