Skip navigation

The cover story of the current issue of Newsweek
newsdecline

The percentage of self-identified Christians has fallen 10 points in the past two decades. How that statistic explains who we are now—and what, as a nation, we are about to become.

Read the rest of the article

So what does this mean?

R. Albert Mohler responds…

While we remain a nation decisively shaped by religious faith, our politics and our culture are, in the main, less influenced by movements and arguments of an explicitly Christian character than they were even five years ago. …

This much I know — Jesus Christ is Lord, and His kingdom is forever. Our proper Christian response to this new challenge is not gloom, but concern. And our first concern must be to see that the Gospel is preached as Good News to the perishing — including all those in post-Christian America.

Here is my read on it:

1. We must not assume people know the gospel!

2. Our job is not to “Christianize” our nation. Our job is to present Jesus.

3. We are in a situation just like the Christians in the first century. We are not the majority anymore.

4. We are ripe for a church-planting movement, much like those that have happened in so many parts of the Third World.

5. Demonstration of the gospel is essential to evangelism – almost as important as proclamation.

6. We really are missionaries – and better start thinking and acting like missionaries!

2 Comments

  1. But, the key words… the key words! What will we do without out those key words and terms to rally around. Is presenting Jesus to those who don’t know Him really the right strategy? Can I do it without first strategizing which worship style will please the secular audience I am trying to reach, which purpose/vision statement will best appeal to those who read it on one of my business cards or on the cover of our “program” (God forbid we call it a bulletin), which marketing strategy we use to reach our demographic target group?

    Woe is me! They are trying to take away all of my tools and leave me with nothing but a Bible, prayer, and His Spirit. What can I possibly hope to accomplish with such limited resources? Absolutely nothing! God’s going to have to do it Himself. But, I guess I’ll try to be available if in case He wants to use me for something.

  2. Last month , for the first time in 40 years , I attended an evangelical Christian church to attend the funeral of a neighbor.
    Boy, was I in for a shock.
    The church was laid out like a theater. There was a rock band, a multimedia setup with two cameras, even a coffee shop and a book store.
    After the service, I commented to my wife that if Jesus Christ were to set foot in the church today… in tattered robes and leather sandals…he might feel a bit uncomfortable in the ultra plush, ultra modern setting.
    Especially with people sleeping in their cars and on the streets in American…and many going without food in 3rd world countries.
    From the sermon, it appears that the new Christians are more concerned with “getting people saved” than “ending world hunger and suffering”
    It’s hard for me to grasp this concept since I’ve always been under the impression that “faith based” organizations like churches are better equipped to tend to the needs of the poor and suffering than the government.
    After I attended church…I’m not so sure.


Leave a Reply

