Skip navigation

Yesterday, at lunch, a friend asked, “what do you think is the greatest threat to Christianity today?”

After much discussion, he ventured, “it is adding something to the gospel of grace – Jesus plus ___________ (baptism, good works, holy life, morality, etc.)”

I think he is right. What sets Christianity apart is Christ alone, grace alone. Add anything to Christ, and you have another religion.

Yet, it is to difficult to simply rest in grace. Martin Luther himself once said,

I myself have been preaching and cultivating it through reading and writing for almost twenty years and still feel the old clinging dirt of wanting to deal so with God that I may contribute something, so that He will give me His grace in exchange for my holiness. Still I cannot get it into my head that I should surrender myself completely to sheer grace, yet I know that this is what I should and must do.

One Comment

  1. Absolutely correct!

    Add anything to Christ and you have another religion!

    I submit that Christianity took Christ and added that he is a son of God! Therefore, Christianity as we know it today is “another” religion.

    Glory be to Him, God Almighty from what Christians ascribe to Him.

    He needs us not but we need Him: to love Him, Worship Him and practice justice and goodness on Earth. He created the Universe and everything in between… if He wanted a son, He would have created a son or daughter or a wife (Glory be to Him that He needs any of that) in the purest form of creation and not below Angels or equal to humans in creation!

    ATW


Leave a Reply

