Skip navigation

In no particular order…and not everything I think about!

1. Fear is driving so much of the country today.

2. I am excited about the next 3 months at Hope- “This is Church” in November, a Christmas for others in December, and Setting the Future Free in January.

3. The greatest problem facing America is not the Democrats – or the Republicans. The great problem is the church. “If my people… will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their evil ways, I will hear from heaven, forgive their sins and HEAL THEIR LAND.”

4. I will be riding my VTX 1800 from Tupelo to Cedar Rapids, Iowa, next week for Eight Days of Hope. “When I ride, I feel his pleasure.”

5. Lots of people are still disconnected from any church in Memphis, still hurt and angry – even after 2 1/2 years.

6. The world-impacting potential of Hope Church is limited only by our vision, courage and will.

7. It is amazing how easy it is to be distracted.

8. God is absolutely sovereign and is working all things to bring glory to Jesus and good to us.

9. My wife and children and their families are unspeakable blessings to me.

10. Time is short – for me, for many, for the world.

3 Comments

  1. Jason and I are so very concerned and burdened by #5 too. We aren’t hurt and angry as others may still be. We are just disconnected. We feel like orphans in a spiritual sense – sheep without a shepherd. We are grateful for God’s great work in our lives and our commitment to seek Him in everything we do. We know that our faith in God has not been shaken by what the church may or may not do. The disconnection with church goes far beyond just GBC, Bellevue, our church. Every church is at fault. Every church has someone that they let fall through the cracks. That is who our burden is for – those that don’t feel like they could ever fit in anywhere, even with God. I know that this says we have church planter hearts. I know that. But Jason isn’t a pastor or a preacher. As you think of #5, can you expand it to a prayer for West Memphis/Marion/Downtown and that God would send us a church planting team to join up with?
    We miss you and love you Sam!!!

  2. Christy – thanks for your comments about #5. It’s strangely comforting to know that there are others out there who feel like spiritual orphans.

  3. Everyone else is commenting on number 5, so I will, too.

    Paul, having preached to the Jews for a long time, went to the Gentiles, telling the Jews he left behind that he had not failed to tell them the truth. He had been faithful. He had preached the word.

    Ezekiel, called of God, was told to speak the word of God. If he did not, the blood of those he did not tell would be on him. But if he spoke, the blood would not be on his hands.

    Humbly let me say that I have the gift of prophecy, and I feel compelled to tell you this: You spoke the word of God faithfully. You taught whenever you had the chance. You gave it your all. That church was divided, and it broke apart in that division. We wish it had not been so, but it is so. You don’t need to worry yourself about that anymore. The souls you taught are not on your hands anymore because you taught the word faithfully. What happened is not your fault, nor is it your responsibility to find everyone’s place or peace for them. You just have to be Sam, keep preaching, and keep loving Jesus, and you will be blessed.

    Sam, I love you, brother, and I pray for you often. You remain one of the most godly influences in my life.


Leave a Reply

