Skip navigation

First, the headline…

Former Contemporary Christian Music singer Ray Boltz–known for his song “Thank You,” as well as “Watch the Lamb,” “The Anchor Holds,” and “I Pledge Allegiance to the Lamb”–divorced his wife last year and has now gone public with the news that he is gay. The LGBT newspaper, Washington Blade, has the exclusive profile and the story.

The profile closes with Boltz saying, “This is what it really comes down to,” he says. “If this is the way God made me, then this is the way I’m going to live. It’s not like God made me this way and he’ll send me to hell if I am who he created me to be … I really feel closer to God because I no longer hate myself.”

This is sad beyond words – for Ray, for his wife, for his children, for the church he loved and which drew life from his music, for the witness to the power of Christ, for many who will read and give up hope.

5 Comments

  1. Multiple sadness in this story.

    It is sad that Ray Boltz has chosen uncontrolled lust for men rather than obedience to God.

    It is sad also he hypocritically makes a tidy sum claiming to worship God and then mocking God by his deeds.

    It is sad Ray Boltz thinks God made him that way rather than accepting his own thought life focused on lust seduced him to act it out. Scripture (God’s Word) clearly states how man and woman were made.

    Sadder still, would be that no one sought to bring this lost sheep back into the fold by confronting and helping him to be a disciple of Jesus. Tolerance is not love, it is selfish.

    I do not know Ray Boltz personally however, I will pray for him to repent and for restoration to his family. I pray that God would move on his heart to get beyond himself and his lusts and focus on walking in God’s Will for his life.

  2. I AM STUNNED AND SPEECHLESS…………….

  3. It is certainly challenging for us all to live in an imperfect world with imperfect lives around imperfect people. I thank God each day for His grace which not only forgives, but it also erects boundaries that keep us safe and it also gives us the power to live each day for Him.

    Ray’s story is all too familiar today. I have seen countless stories just like his. Sin has wrecked havoc in his life, the life of his wife and family. Ray is one of millions that have not been effectively discipled to understand Who God really is and who we really are.

    I must say that all too often the formalized programs of many churches may do a great job of teaching scripture and informing its people of the “standards” that are thought to be wholly Christian.

    I must also say that Christians have missed the mark in the area of relating to each other in honesty, integrity, and healthy connections.

    Ray’s life and family is a statistic of bad theology, poor relationships. It is a result of plastic religion, a poor understanding of what it really means to “not forsake the assembly” and not living up to the true teaching of “Roman’s 1 and 2” which in summary is:
    1. The digression of sin in all of our lives brings us exchange the truth of God for a lie.
    2. “Agreeing with those who do” in our enabling of each other to an addictive level
    3. Inappropriately and harshly judging one another without taking a good look at ourselves
    4. Not loving God’s kindness as this is what leads us to repentance

    What Ray needs is a good dose of God’s kindness! I can assure you that internally he is well aware of his fallen and broken state of being. Ray doesn’t need one more person to tell him why and how he is wrong!

    His broken life is a reality for not only him, but for all of us.

    Having left my wife and abandoned her and my children for the “lust of men” I understand to a large degree what Ray may be going through. I forsook my goals, life dreams, family relationships, and abused myself with other men.

    It truly was God’s kindness that brought me to Him. Kindness through God’s people who were honest enough to not separate themselves from me, rather they related to my sin filled plight through their own stories of broken choices and the redemption that Jesus offers us.

    I would recommend that we all take time after reading Ray’s story to seek God to show us how we have forsaken Him in our lives and turned to our own ways to medicate the brokenness of our lives. At one time or another, we have all “turned to our wicked ways” and needed the kindness of God.

    It is my hope that you not hear in this writing permissiveness regarding homosexual behavior. I have seen thousands whose lives have been severely damaged by the actions of homosexual behavior. God’s heart is full of grief and weeping for Ray’s recent proclamation of sin. But even more so, He is broken hearted when any of us do not turn to Him for healing: “Where are you Adam?”

  4. I must agree with you 100%! As sad as it is for Ray and his family, the fact that he will bring as false hope, to those who’ve have been trusting Christ to keep them from being moved into sin by their same sex attraction, is sadder still.

    And yes! Let us all take heed and not think to highly of ourselves, lest we fall.

    Peace and blessings,
    Tim

  5. What a sad situation with Boltz. I do hope the Christian world will pray for him and also exhort him. Remember that we are called to exhort one another when we see a brother in sin. Here’s a fictional conversation between Ray Boltz and Jesus…

    http://shawnbarr.wordpress.com/2008/09/26/ray-boltz-talks-to-jesus/


Leave a Reply

