Skip navigation

Albert Einstein’s marriage was disintegrating. He was already neck-deep in extra-marital affairs. Finally, he made a last-ditch effort to keep the illusion of marriage alive – primarily for the sake of the children.

This is the contract sent to his wife by one of the most brilliant men in history:

A. You will make sure…

*that my clothes and laundry are kept in good order;

*that I will receive my three meals regularly in my room;

*that my bedroom and study are kept neat, and especially that my desk is left for my use only.

B. You will renounce all personal relations with me insofar as they are not completely necessary for social reasons. Specifically, you will forego…

*my sitting at home with you;

*my going out of traveling with you.

C. You will obey the following points in your relations with me…

*you will not expect any intimacy from me, nor will you reproach me in any way;

*you will stop talking to me if I request it;

*you will leave my bedroom or study immediately without protest if I request it.

D. You will undertake not to belittle me in front of our children, either through words or behavior.

Amazingly, his wife eventually agreed to these terms.

When he received her response, Einstein insisted on writing to her again

“so that you are completely clear about the situation.”

He was prepared to live together again

“because I don’t want to lose the children and I don’t want them to lose me.”

It was out of the question that he would have any relationship with her, but a “businesslike” one.

“The personal aspects must be reduced to a tiny remnant. In return, I assure you of proper comportment on my part, such as I would exercise to any woman as a stranger.”

This comes from the pen (and from the heart!) of one of the brightest men the world has ever known.

What a contrast with the wisdom of the Bible (1 Peter 3:1-7 Message)

The same goes for you wives: Be good wives to your husbands, responsive to their needs. There are husbands who, indifferent as they are to any words about God, will be captivated by your life of holy beauty. What matters is not your outer appearance—the styling of your hair, the jewelry you wear, the cut of your clothes—but your inner disposition.

Cultivate inner beauty, the gentle, gracious kind that God delights in. The holy women of old were beautiful before God that way, and were good, loyal wives to their husbands. Sarah, for instance, taking care of Abraham, would address him as “my dear husband.” You’ll be true daughters of Sarah if you do the same, unanxious and unintimidated.

The same goes for you husbands: Be good husbands to your wives. Honor them, delight in them. As women they lack some of your advantages. But in the new life of God’s grace, you’re equals. Treat your wives, then, as equals so your prayers don’t run aground.

(adapted from Tim Challies)

One Comment

  1. So there is a sharp difference between how one handles his academic and profesional life and general person life.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

