Skip navigation

Did you know…

If 100 people represent the world’s population, 53 people would live on less than $2 a day. 

If you make $4000 a month, you make 100 times more than the average person on this planet? 

We’re rich. 

We don’t think we’re rich. We worry about money for education, family, retirement. We back off from giving lavishly to ministry or missions. 

We are rich.

Filthy rich. 

Money does weird things to people. It gives a false sense of security. Because I have money and can afford things (like daily bread), I don’t ask God for them. I’m not content with what I have, so I look for more. And that puts us to a spiritual disadvantage. 

 

“I am concerned for the poor but more for you. I know not what Christ will say to you in the great day…. I fear there are many hearing me who may know well that they are not Christians because they do not love to give. To give largely and liberally, not grudgingly at all, requires a new heart; an old heart would rather part with its life-blood than its money. 

Oh, my friends! Enjoy your money; make the most of it; give none away; enjoy it quickly, for I can tell you, you will be beggars throughout eternity.”

Robert Murray McCheyne, Scottish pastor (1813-1843) who died at age 29.

 

“Prosperity hardens the heart.”

William Wilberforce (1759-1833), wealthy philanthropist, leader of the movement to abolish the slave trade in England, friend of John Newton

 

Sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then, come and follow me.”

When the rich man heard this, he became very sad because he was a man of great wealth. Jesus looked at him and said, “How hard it is for the rich to enter the Kingdom of God… but what is impossible with man is possible with God.”  

Jesus Christ, Luke 18:22-24

Leave a Reply

