Skip navigation

“For my own part, I tend to find the doctrinal books often more helpful in devotion than the devotional books, and I rather suspect that the same experience may await others. I believe that many who find that ‘nothing happens’ when they sit down or kneel down to a book of devotion would find that the heart sings unbidden while they are working their way through a tough bit of theology with a pipe in their teeth and a pencil in their hand.”

C. S. Lewis, quoted in Roger Lancelyn Green and Walter Hooper, C. S. Lewis: A Biography, page 115

This is my experience – minus the pipe. (I do love the smell, though)

One Comment

  1. I think you just wanted to sneak in an endorsement for smoking a pipe.


Leave a Reply

