Skip navigation

I’m thinking and studying and teaching on what it means to seek the face of God. The more I read and study the Scriptures and Christian history, the more I see the singular focus of the men God used: the pursuit of God.

I’ve recently been reminded of a prayer that I first began to pray as a college student. It dates back to Richard of Chicester (1197-1253), and seems to express what I am yearning for these days:

Thanks be to Thee, O Lord Jesus Christ, for all the benefits which Thou hast given us;

For all the pains and insults which Thou hast born for us.

O most merciful redeemer, friend and brother,

May I know Thee more clearly,

Love Thee more dearly,

Follow Thee more nearly,

For Thine own sake.

Leave a Reply

