Skip navigation


I had lunch today with Wes White, Executive Director of Global Outreach. He asked a very interesting question – is it possible that our churches and personal lives and families are struggling because we seek God’s hand rather than His face?

He told me that his grandson – 2 years old – recently took Wes’ face in his little hands and turned it toward him. He was seeking his grandfather’s face – his attention, his focus, his eyes, his love. The little guy was not seeking what Wes might give him – simply the companionship of his grandfather.

With that story in mind, I discovered how often God encourages us to seek his face.

Look to the LORD and his strength; seek his face always.
1 Chronicles 16:11

If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

2 Chronicles 7:14


Such is the generation of those who seek him, who seek your face, O God of Jacob. Psalm 24:6

My heart says of you, “Seek his face!” Your face, LORD, I will seek.
Psalm 27:8

Look to the LORD and his strength; seek his face always.
Psalm 105:4


Leave a Reply

