Skip navigation

Yesterday, I was meditating on David’s statement, “I will not offer to the Lord that which costs me nothing.” (2 Sam 24:24) 

Today, I read this story.

Two well-to-do Christians, a lawyer and a businessman, joined a tour that was going around the world. In Korea one day, they saw a field by the side of the road, and in the field, a boy pulled a crude plow, while an old man held the plow handles and directed it through the rice paddy. The lawyer was amused and took a picture of the scene.

“That’s a curious sight,” he said to the missionary, who was the interpreter and guide. “Yes,” was the reply, “that is the family of Chi Noui. When the church building was built, they were eager to give something, but they had no money, so they sold the only ox they had and gave the money to the church. This spring, they are pulling the plow themselves.”

The lawyer and the businessman were silent for a few moments, then the businessman said, “That must have been a real sacrifice.”
They did not call it that,” said the missionary. “They thought it was fortunate they had an ox to sell.”

The two tourists did not have much to say after that, but when they reached home, the lawyer took the picture to his minister and told him of the incident. “I want to double my offering to the church,” he said, “and give me some plow work to do. I have never known what sacrifice for the Lord really means. I am ashamed to say that I have never given anything to the Lord that really cost me something.”

Leave a Reply

