Skip navigation

Lance Witt  and I once pastored the same church – not at the same time. He followed me and cleaned up my mistakes. He is a friend, served as Executive Pastor at Saddleback, and now leads a ministry called Replenish.  What he writes about drivenness in a pastor is right on target. Confessions of a driven pastor (Part One)

by Lance Witt

 

I know the conflicted feeling of standing up to preach and knowing that my own soul is empty and dry. I know what it is to do ministry fueled only by experience and obligation. I know what it is to feed others while neglecting to feed myself.

 


It’

s no longer safe

to assume that people

in ministry have healthy souls and just need

a little coaching in the  leadership area.Pastor Lance Witt


 

Proverbs 14:8 says, “The wisdom of the prudent is to give thought to their ways, but the folly of fools is deception.” It is healthy for those of us who serve in ministry to regularly push the pause button and “give thought” to our ways. It is good for us to do an honest diagnosis. Solomon says you are a fool to live in self-deception. So, let me ask you to give thought to the ways of your ministry. As you plot the trajectory of your life and soul, where does it lead?

I have been a Christ follower for more than 35 years and in full-time ministry for more than 25 years. I know my own struggles, and I work with pastors most every day. It is no longer safe to assume that we as Christian leaders are doing well while doing good. It is no longer safe to assume that people in ministry have healthy souls and just need a little coaching in the leadership area.

The danger of image management

I have learned over the years that there are some toxins inherent to modern ministry that can poison my soul. Ministry, which we would assume would enhance our relationship with God, can actually become a threat to our relationship with God. To read more – here 

Leave a Reply

