Skip navigation

I interrupted a series on the Ten Commandments in order to speak on the most thrilling, urgent and important macro-topic I know – speeding the coming of Jesus by linking up with his goal of getting the gospel to every people group on earth.

Anytime I study the issue or preach on missions, I find myself asking the question, “Does the Lord want us to go to an unreached people group now? I’m 55 – I’ve got 20-25 good years left – Do I invest them in raising funds, learning a new language, seeking to be a part of a church-planting movement? What is the most strategic place for me to invest my one and only life?

At this point, it seems God is calling me to be a sender – I think my heart would break if I could not challenge and lead people to give themselves to furthering the cause of God’s global purposes.

I was very grateful to see dozens of people come forward for prayer this morning, indicating their sense that God was stirring them to deeper involvement in cross-cultural efforts. Our lives will never be the same!

Satan hates what happened this morning! He will throw every kind of discouragement, distraction, and passion-quenching frustration in the way of those who pursue God’s calling. The Evil One wants us to second-guess our calling and commitments. Satan’s plan for our life – drift back into lukewarm spiritual apathy or become passionate about things that ultimately do not matter.

Here are a few encouragements:

Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. Romans 12:11-12

Dear friends, do not be surprised at the painful trial you are suffering, as though something strange were happening to you. But rejoice that you participate in the sufferings of Christ, so that you may be overjoyed when his glory is revealed. 1 Peter 4:12-13

You will be betrayed even by parents, brothers, relatives and friends, and they will put some of you to death. All men will hate you because of me. But not a hair of your head will perish. By standing firm you will gain life. Luke 21:16-19

2 Comments

  1. Whew, Sam! I am at a loss for words to describe how wonderful yesterday was at Hope. There was an anointing on you that was awesome from the moment you opened your mouth. You preached under what the old-timers used to call a “holy unction”. Your heart was so full it could be heard in your voice spilling into your emotions and there were times that I didn’t think your mouth was going to be able to keep up with your spirit. It seemed like God’s message was just POURING out of you.

    Thank you for having the sensitivity to the Spirit of God to allow Him to interrupt the series He had directed you to preach with His more urgent message. I am so grateful that God has brought us a pastor at Hope Church with the heart for missions that you have. I know He’s going to use your vision and desires as you yield them to Him to lead our church in ways we’ve never experienced Him before.

    Praising Him, Beverly Wooley

  2. I MISS YOUR PREACHING!!!! : )


Leave a Reply

