Skip navigation

I recently did a little survey work of the Scriptures in preparation for a worship pastor’s first day. What I found was interesting.

Singing God’s praises has the power to….

Confuse the enemy of our souls (2 Chron 20:22)

Stimulate the spirit of prophesy (2 Kings 3:15)

Express faith (Acts 16:25)

Give evidence of the fullness of the Spirit (Eph 5:19-20)

Prepare us for conflict and suffering (Mark 14:26)

Ill. Dick Eastman, in his book, The Hour that Changes the World, quotes the great missionary to Africa, Mary Slessor

in the midst of all the demonic activity and pressures on my life, I sing doxology and dismiss the devil.

Ill. Amy Carmichael, great writer and missionary to India once said…

I believe truly that Satan cannot endure praise and worship, so he slips out of the room while it goes on.

Martin Luther’s biographer, Roland Bainton, quoted Luther…

Music is fair and lovely gift of God which has often wakened and moved me to the joy of preaching. Music drives away the devil and makes people glad. Next after theology, I give to music the highest place and greatest honor. I would not change what little I know of music for something great. Experience proves that next to the Word of God only music deserves to be extolled as the mistress and governess of the feelings of the human heart. We know that to the devils, music is distasteful and insufferable. My heart bubbles up and overflows in response to music, which has so often refreshed me and delivered me from dire plagues.

William Law, in his spiritual classic, A Serious Call to a Devout and Holy Life, has an entire chapter to encourage us to chant the Psalms in our private devotions. He says…

There is nothing that clears a way for your prayers, nothing that so disperses dullness of heart, nothing that so purifies the soul from poor and little passions, nothing that so opens heaven, or carries your heart so near it, as these songs of praise. They create a sense and delight in God, they awaken holy desires, they teach you how to ask, and they prevail with God to give. They kindle a holy flame, they turn your heart into an altar, your prayers into incense, and carry them as a sweet-smelling savor to the throne of grace.

No wonder the devil hates the singing of God’s people. No wonder he works overtime to keep a church from becoming a singing church. No wonder he does his best to keep you and me from singing. No wonder he uses music to deceive, deaden and destroy.

One Comment

  1. How completely true! God’s music parts the veil and presents the hearts’ focus to the One True God! We were created for worship!
    Mother broke her pelvic bone in January and went through 3 institutions and then learned to walk. She then started into osteoporosis fractures– lumbar of the spine( surgery) and 7-12 ribs on right side. Pain killer drugs brought on more problems, confusion– an psychotic dementia was diagnosed and COPD( chronic obstructive pulmonary disease). It has been quite a spiral down BUT at this stage while she is in Hospice care at home around the corner from Roy and me– when I sing to her– the pain lifts. She is frail and ready for heaven when our Lord calls her. When I seek to worship God with my whole heart, my anguish lifts and I understand afresh and anew the power of praise. Writing my new book through all of this, I would walk, weep and sing outloud” I Must Tell Jesus” and HE came to me and carried my weight. The new book is ” A Pillow on the Highway”. ( Finding Rest)– based on one verse– Jeremiah 6:16. It should be released in November. God is faithful. Sometimes we lose our pillow– some folks have never found theirs. I have.
    Jesus is my pillow. I still pray for your and Ruthe every day. We love our new church home but will always treasure our time with you Sam at Germantown.
    So Sing YOUR PRAISE every day and the enemy will flee.
    I know :0)
    Blessings,
    Billie and Roy Cash


Leave a Reply

